About our Parish

Summary of Becoming a Parish



Officially designated a cluster several years ago, the three parishes coordinate a schedule of Masses and other services, and special liturgies, for example at Christmas and during the Easter Triduum. A cluster council representing each parish is assigned to develop unity as a cluster. The cluster council has committees for liturgy, stewardship, evangelization, communication and youth involvement. Each parish also maintains its own committees for faith formation, social ministry, liturgy, hospitality, service, and facilities.

Two of the three parishes are in Monroe County; St. Columba is in Livingston County. The parishes are each about 10 miles away from one another. 

The cluster also maintained a collaborative relationship with St. Christopher’s Church in North Chili as part of the diocese’s 5 Saints West Pastoral Planning Group.   Representatives from each parish meet quarterly today but met much more frequently as the cluster evolved more than a decade ago. The relationship continues today with such events as a Lenten retreat among the 5SW parishes. 

On July 1st, 2017 Bishop Salvatore Matano issued a decree that our three parishes "shall by extinctive union be amalgamated one to another and so be constituted as a single parish."  This action was taken to provide for continued ministry to the people of God in the territory of Caledonia, Churchville and Scottsville. We celebrated our new parish, St. Martin de Porres, with a special Mass and picnic!